Beyond the 4C’s – Diamond Education

May 28, 2015

In the 20th century, experts in gemmology developed methods of grading diamonds and other gemstones based on the characteristics most important to their value as a gem. These characteristics, were informally known as the Four C’s.

At MONTASH Jewellery Design we have the Five C’s of Diamonds. We education our customers on all diamond education and these standards ensure the quality of all our diamonds and will help you to make the right decision for you!

Diamond Cut

Diamond Cut is the most important of the Cs as the cut has all to do with the reflective qualities of the diamond. A good cut is what gives a diamond its radiance. Different cuts include Ideal Cut, Fine Cut, Deep Cut, and the Shallow Cut. When a Diamond is well-cut light travels to the base where it then projects from one side to the other and mirrors back to the surface, giving the diamond its glint and luminosity.

Diamond Clarity

Diamond clarity refers to the presence of inclusions within the diamond including blemishes, scratches, trapped air bubbles, or trapped non-diamond mineral material from the harsh stress that the crystal undergoes during production. Clear Diamonds are incredibly rare and are much more expensive due to the absence of inclusions.

Diamond Colour

Diamond colour indicates the ‘whiteness’ of the diamond and refers to the presence of yellow or brown tints existing in a white diamond. Colour is determined by comparing the diamond to an internationally approved set of master tones. ‘D’ is the grade for a white colourless diamond, and travels down the alphabet to grade stones with traces of very faint yellow or brown tinges.

Grading System

  • D Exceptional White +
  • E Exceptional White
  • F Rare White +
  • G Rare White +
  • H White
  • I Slightly Tinted White
  • J Slightly Tinted White
  • K Tinted White
  • L Tinted White
  • M-Z Tinted Colour

Diamond Certificates

Diamonds can be accompanied with an independent certificate to ensure authenticity of the piece. MONTASH Jewellery Design can supply a grading certificate with any diamond that is purchased.
Diamond grading experts determine whether the gem is natural, untouched and of quality by analysing the characteristics in the stone.

Diamond certification laboratories are produced from the following:

  • GIA – Gemmological Institute of America
  • DCLA – Diamond Certification Laboratory of Australia
  • ADGL – Australian Diamond Grading Laboratory
  • HRD – Diamond High Council, Antwerp World Diamond Centre
  • AGS – Antwerp Gemmological Services
  • IGI – International Gemmological Institute
  • EGL – European Gemmological Laboratory
  • Signature
  • AUSCert – Australian Certification
  • Eternity Certificate GSL – Gem Studies Laboratory

Diamond Carats

A carat is the unit of weight by which a diamond is measured rather than its size and width. One carat is equal to one fifth of a gram. The larger the diamond the more expensive and more rare the carat will be. Size is one of the most obvious factors in determining the value of a diamond however, two diamonds identical in size can have different values depending on their quality. The carat size you desire will depend on the balance between size and quantity.

If you wish to learn more about the Five C’s when selecting your perfect diamond contact us at MONTASH Jewellery Design today.

Filed under: Blog by Kellie Brewer

No Comments »

Brisbane Jewellers About Us